Code Making Process

A new edition of the National Electrical Code (NEC) is developed every three years in what is called a “code cycle.” The NEC is composed of 18 code-making panels (CMP) with IEC representatives on each panel as well as manufacturers, inspectors, users, installers, labor, consumers, testing labs, and special experts. 

NEC Process
The National Fire Protection Association, Inc. (NFPA) sponsors the development of the NEC®. The NFPA publishes guidelines in the Regulations Governing Committee Projects for the procedures for all of the standards it publishes. For the NEC®, the procedures call for a four step process.

Input stage
The first step in the code process involves issuing a public notice that the NEC® revision process has begun and asking for interested parties to submit proposals for revising the document. The notice is placed in appropriate publications such as the NFPA News, the U.S. Federal Register, and the American National Standards Institute's Standards Action. This step provides twenty-three weeks for respondents to submit their proposals. Anyone can submit a proposal to change the NEC® provided it contains the required information. 

 The key to successful code proposals is proper substantiation for the proposed changes. After the last date to receive proposals, code panels meet to discuss and vote on each of the proposed changes. All technical committee reports are posted on the NFPA website for public review. Everyone has the opportunity to submit a comment on each of the proposed changes whether the CMP voted to accept or reject them.

Comment stage
The second step in the process is the comment stage. Public comments are accepted on the first draft for 10 weeks. The appropriate technical committee or CMP code-making panel reviews all comments in order to formulate the second draft committee report. Any proposal or comment that is not accepted by the committee must contain a written reason for the rejection. New proposals cannot be submitted during this stage of the code cycle. The CMP can only take action on proposals that have received adequate public review during the proposal stage.

The Third step is the NFPA annual meeting
A notice of intent to make a motion (Nitmam) is accepted for five weeks following the posting of the second draft report. Nitmams are reviewed and validated motions that become certified amending motions (CAM). Certified amending motions are considered and acted on during the annual meeting. The chair of each CMP provides a report on the actions of the committee for approval. Floor action on certified motions occur during this meeting.

The fourth and final step is the appeals and issuance
Any appeal to the Standards Council will be considered and final rulings will be posted on the NFPA website. The Standards Council has the responsibility for overseeing and issuing all of the codes and standards developed for the NFPA. The NEC® Correlating Committee works directly under the Standards Council. The Correlating Committee steers the panels through the process, ensuring that each proposal and comment is processed according to an established operating procedure. Once the process is complete, the Standards Council issues the document for publication.

The NEC® is a legal document designed to be adopted by local and/or state governmental bodies. Local jurisdictions may choose to adopt the code in its entirety, with specific additions or exceptions, or they may choose not to adopt the code at all.

1David Hittinger
IEC of Greater Cincinnati 
Matt Hittinger
IEC of Greater Cincinnati 
2David W. Johnson
CenTex Chapter IEC
Britt Crist
IES Commercial
3Robert Jones
Houston, Texas
Adam D. Corbin
Corbin Electrical Services, Inc.
4Duke Schamel
Electrical Service Solutions, Inc. 
Mark Gillespie
TMI Electrical Contractors
5G. Scott Harding
FB Harding, Inc.
Jon Coulimore
JC Electric Inc.
6Jerry Kent
Kent Systems 
Chris Fahrenthold
FSG Electric
7Jake Gray
Denier Electric
William Bruce Bowman
Fox Systems, Inc. 
8Raul Vasquez
IEC San Antonio
Javier Herrera
Central Electric Company
9Carmon Colvin
Bright Future Electric, LLC
Gary Boom
Parkin Electric Inc.
10Steve Struble
Freeman's Electric.
Joe Chandler
IEC Dallas Chapter
11George Tidden
iES Commercial 
Ron Greenhill
Electric Solutions, Inc.
12Eddie Rodriguez
IEC Texas Gulf Coast
Gilbert Soliz
IEC Texas Gulf Coast
13Matt Grover
King's Electric Services
Larry Ayer
Biz Com Electric, Inc. 
14Lowell Reith
Interstates Construction Services, Inc.           
David Caffrey
Centerfire Electric Inc.
15James Seabury
Enterprise Electric LLC
Carmon Colvin
Bright Future Electric, LLC
16Luigi Prezioso
M.C. Dean, Inc.
David Schrembeck
DBS Communications Inc.
17Mike Querry
IEC Fort Worth/Tarrant County
Armando Lozano
MSF Electric, Inc. 
18Ron D. Alley
Northern New Mexico IEC
Mark Coshal
IES Commercial