Safety Awards

IEC strives to communicate the importance of safety to our members and encourages them to make it a top priority within their companies. To recognize achievement in the area of safety, IEC offers three annual awards and recognition to its members.

 SPARK Recognition

The SPARK program provides a method for member companies to evaluate their safety program by giving it a “safety check-up.” This is not a competition. This document is for survey purposes only and will not be reprinted, circulated, or published by IEC or its chapters. IEC will present those companies that rate themselves Grand Achievement, Superior Achievement, or SPARK Achievement with a SPARK Recognition Certificate.

IEC Safety Professional of the Year Award

The IEC Safety Professional of the Year Award recognizes an individual who demonstrates outstanding achievement in the occupational safety and health (OSH) field. We seek to recognize individuals who have demonstrated unique, engaging, and effective approaches to the safety programs within their companies. In doing so, this individual has had a profound and positive impact on safety within the electrical industry.

IEC Safety Award

The IEC Safety Award recognizes companies that excel beyond Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) recordable incidence rates. Recipient companies have taken safety beyond traditional programs. Our analysis will take into account important safety program components including management commitment, safety committee participation, investigation of incidents/near misses, employee involvement, worksite auditing for unsafe acts and conditions, recognition of safe actions, and recordable rates.

Award Categories by Company Size

Category A: 1-15 Employees

Category B: 16-50 Employees

Category C: 51-125 Employees

Category D: 126-300 Employees

Category E: 301 Plus Employees


Contact the national staff member below for any questions regarding safety.