Awards & Contests

IEC Safety Awards

IEC places workplace safety as one of its core values and encourages members to have the safest work environment possible. Each year, the association recognizes those members who have exemplary safety programs and records with the IEC-CNA Safety Award and the Safety Program Awareness & Retention Kit (SPARK).

These honors were given out during the IEC Con 2016, October 26-29, in San Antonio, Texas

IEC-CNA Safety Award


The IEC-CNA Safety Award is viewed as the elite safety award for the industry, recognizing those companies that excel in multiple areas of their safety program. Winners have taken their safety program to the highest standards and have shown upper management/owner commitment, high employee involvement, active participation throughout the company and effective controls over major exposures to loss.

This award is given out in five different categories, based on company size. Award winners are presented with a professional quality IEC-CNA Safety Award, a press release to share with local media, and an electronic "Safety Award Winner" icon for use on any publication, website or promotion. 

See the 2016 winners.

Think you have what it takes to be a winner? Read a Q & A from 2011 IEC-CNA Safety Award winner LeMay Electric on their award winning safety program by clicking here

IEC SPARK Recognition

The SPARK kit is a self-assessment to help companies assess their safety standards and practices. This "Safety Check-Up," is not a competition, but those contractors who have Grand Achievement, Superior Achievement, or SPARK Achievement will receive national recognition and a SPARK Certificate. During the IEC Con 2016, the Chapter with the largest amount of contractor members with SPARK recognition will receive a special award.

Click here to download the SPARK Brochure and begin your safety check-up.

View companies receiving the IEC SPARK Recognition in 2015.

For questions regarding the IEC Safety Awards, please contact Paul Dolenc at (703) 650-0079. Please send completed IEC-CNA Safety Award and/or SPARK forms to